# Toc H Institute of Science & Technology

# **Department of Computer Science & Engineering**

## **Achievements 2014-'15**

#### **CSI NATIONAL AWARD**

TIST CSI Student Branch has been recognised by Computer Society of India with the prestigious National level "Best Accredited Student Branch Award" for the year 2013-'14 (3<sup>rd</sup> time in a row). The Institute has been instrumental in organizing international and national seminars, inter-collegiate competitions for best project, mobile apps, technical quiz, & coding, technical sessions and workshops which help to improve the technical skills and leadership abilities of the students. The activities are focussed to keep the students abreast of the emerging technology trends. Asso. Prof. Sreela Sreedhar (HOD, CSE) received the awards from Mr. H R Mohan, President of CSI, at the CSI annual convention held on 12<sup>th</sup> December 2014 at the Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University, Andhra Pradesh.



Ms. Elsaba Jacob, Assistant Professor of CSE Dept. is one among two from Kerala to win the "Longest Continuous Student Branch Coordinator Award" from CSI.

## YOUNG ENTREPRENEUR AWARD FROM KERALA STATE GOVERNMENT:

**Jibin Jose** of 2010-'14 Batch won the Young Entrepreneur Award from Kerala State Government in 2014. He has won many other achievements like CSI Highest Committed Student Branch Activist Award 2012-'13 at the national level, ISTE Best Student Member Award 2012-'13, Startup Village to Silicon Valley initiative Winner 2013 (visited Silicon Valley and interacted with top leaders of the industry), Rajeev Motwani Foundation Fellowship etc. His start up 'Flip Technologies' awarded as one among the Top 5 student startups.



## **CSI NATIONAL AWARD FOR HIGHEST COMMITTED STUDENT ACTIVIST:**

**Anoop K Nayak** of 2010-'14 batch bagged the "Highest Committed Student Branch Activist Award" from CSI, the only student from Kerala chosen for the honor.

# UNIVERSITY ROVER CHALLENGE (URC) - MARS ROVER MISSION AND CANSAT COMPETITION:



**Jibin Jose** and **Anoop K Nayak** of 2010-'14 batch along with three TISTians (Team 'Chronos') competed in the University Rover Challenge (URC) in USA for designing a rover for Mars mission. They also competed with students from across the world in the prestigious international aeronautical contest — CanSat — in the US.

#### **BREAKTHROUGH INNOVATION CERTIFICATION**

Akash S, Anoop K Nayak, Bijin Abraham Idicula, Jibin Jose and Libin P Babu (2010-'14 Batch) have successfully completed a certification course in "Breakthrough Innovation" which was an FICE – University of California, Berkeley initiative.

## **CYBER CELL WEBSITE:**



**Sangeetha N Kumar, Syam Mohan and Lissy P K** of M.Tech (Data Security) 2013-'15 batch, developed a website for Cyber Cell as part of their internship program under the guidance of Mr. P P Jayakumar, an expert Senior Civil Police Officer of Cyber Cell, Alappuzha.

**Nithin Syriac** and **Abraham Solomon** (2013'-17 batch) won the second prize for TELETRIX in Abhiyantriki 2K14, a national level tech fest at RSET, Kochi on 19<sup>th</sup> & 20<sup>th</sup> September 2014.

**R Aditya Naik** and **Vishnu Shenoy** (2012-'16 batch) bagged the first prize for C Debugging in NAKSHATRA 2015, a national level techno-cultural fest at Saintgits, Kottayam on 22<sup>nd</sup> January 2015.

**Jithu Thampi, Joyal Jose** and **Samuel T Thomas** (2011-'15 batch) won the first prize for Mobile App Contest in Tech FOSS conducted on 26<sup>th</sup> & 27<sup>th</sup> February at TIST.

**Abraham Alexander, Anuj K Sajan** and **Bibin Thomas** (2011-'15 batch) won the second prize for Open Source Hardware Project Competition in Tech FOSS conducted on 26<sup>th</sup> and 27<sup>th</sup> February at TIST.

#### **ARTS & SPORTS:**

**Meera Kuriakose** (2011-'15 batch) secured the third prize in 200m race held at the CUSAT Athletic Meet in January 2015.

**Mithun Sathyan** (2011-'15 batch) and Mr. Shoukath Ali (2012-'16 batch) were the members of the College Football Team which won the CUSAT Football Tournament.

Ann Shirley Varghese, Lekshmi L Reghu (2011-'15 batch) and Amal Santhosh (2013-'17 batch) secured the first prize for Dance Competition in various College Cultural Fests all over Kerala.

\*\*\*\*