• Call us: (0484) 2748388, 2749600, 2738126
  • mail@tistcochin.edu.in

Professional Societies

Campus Life

ISTE (Indian Society for Technical Education)

ISTE is a premier National level society of professionals & educators. First started in 1941 as the Association of  Principals of Technical Institutions (APTI), it was converted into “Indian Society for Technical Education” in 1968 with a view to enlarge its activities to advance the cause of technical education.

The major objective of the ISTE is to assist and contribute to the production and development of top quality professional engineers and technologists needed by the industries.  Being the only national organisation of educators in the field of engineering and technology, ISTE is being represented in the various Technical Committees and Boards formed by the Central Government. The Ministry of Human Resource Development, AICTE & State Governments also involve ISTE in their important programs and activities relating to technical education.

The major functional units of ISTE are known as Chapters. There are three types of ISTE Chapters, namely Parents’ Chapters, Students’ Chapters & Teachers’ Chapters.


TIST receiving ISTE award for the best ISTE student chapter.

The ISTE Students’ Chapter was inaugurated in our Institute on  10-11-2006 by Dr. D Balakrishnan,  National Executive Council member of  ISTE. The Chairman of ISTE, Kerala section Dr.P.Prathapachandran Nair,  the Secretary of ISTE Kerala section Mr. K.O.Paul were also present  as special guests for the event.

The ISTE Students’ Chapter of our Institute has around 268 members. Asst.Prof. Sunitha E V and Asst.Professor. Ms. Rini T Paul, Dept. of Information Technology are the Chairperson and the Students’ Advisor of  ISTE, TIST Chapter.